405th AFSB recognizes employees for excellence

by Jennifer L. King
405th Army Field Support Brigade Public Affairs

The 405th Army Field Support Brigade held a quarterly awards ceremony Oct. 18 at the brigade headquarters on Daenner Kaserne.

During the ceremony, Mac Franklin, who works in the brigade’s S-3 office, was recognized as the Department of the Army Civilian of the Quarter; Rudian Luga, a Logistics Assistance Representative for the U.S. Army Tank-automotive and Armaments Command, was selected as the LAR of the quarter; Veronique Stradiot, who works for the Department of Logistics BENELUX maintenance office, received an award as the Host Nation Employee of the Quarter; Kay Foerch, a DOL management and budget analyst in Stuttgart, was honored as the DOL Employee of the Quarter; and SPC Akiel McNight from the 511th Military Police Platoon in Livorno, Italy, was recognized as the Soldier of the Quarter.

“I believe that it is very important that we take the time to recognize our peers who go above and beyond their duty each and every day to serve our Soldiers,” said Col. Ronald Green, the commander of the 405th AFSB. “Every day, our employees and Soldiers are working to successfully complete our mission, and I am extremely proud of their accomplishments.”

Green, who gave out more than 50 awards during the ceremony, also recognized the nominees in each category during the ceremony, as well as handing out length of service recognitions and other awards.

In addition to the awards presented by Green, Col. Philip Gay, the Army National Guard Burrell director of logistics, headquartered at Arlington, Va., attended the ceremony and recognized several brigade employees. For decades, the brigade has supported Army National Guard operations at Germersheim Army Depot, and the Army National Guard will close its operations at the depot this year.

Gay presented a plaque of appreciation to Brian Dampier, director of operations for the brigade’s mission at GAD for the Army Field Support Battalion-Kaiserslautern. He also presented coins of appreciation to Jaime Rosales, Kenny Philips and Irene Koelsch for their dedicated support to the Army National Guard operations over the years.