German holidays in 2018

by Petra Lessoing
86th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

For planning purposes, the following is a list of German holidays in 2018:

Jan. 1 New Year’s

Jan. 6 Three Kings’ Day
(official holiday in Bavaria, Sachsen and Baden-Wuerttemberg only)

Feb. 12 Rose Monday
(no legal holiday)

Feb. 13 Shrove Tuesday
(Fasching – no legal holiday)

Feb. 14 Ash Wednesday
(no legal holiday)

March 30 Good Friday

April 1 and 2 Easter

May 1 Labor Day

May 10 Ascension Day

May 20 and 21 Pentecost

May 31 Corpus Christi Day
(official holiday in the states of Rheinland-Pfalz, Saarland, Bavaria, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Hessen, Nordrhein-Westfalen and Sachsen)

Aug. 15 Assumption of the

Blessed Virgin
(only in Bavaria and Saarland)

Oct. 3 Unification Day

Nov. 1 All Saints Day

Dec. 25 and 26 Christmas