Ramstein award

Emily Reagan
Kaiserslautern American

The U.S. Air Forces in Europe recently announced the Ramstein winners of several command awards.

The 435th Comptroller Squadron won both unit and individual awards in the Fiscal Year 2004 Financial Management and Comptroller Award competition. The squadron won the USAFE Financial Management and Comptroller Organization of the Year and the Financial Services Office of the Year. Senior Airman Gilbert Cavazos won Financial Management Airman of the Year.

The Financial Analysis Civilian of the Year award winners were John Griffin (GS-10 and below) and Marion Holgate (GS-11 and above).

Two Airmen won in the USAFE security forces awards. Staff Sgt. Janee R. Walker, 569th U.S. Forces Police Squadron, won the Julie Y. Cross Memorial Award and Master Sgt. Sherry Matthews-Stinson, 568th Security Forces Squadron, won the Doris R. McCrosson Manager Award.

Two 86th Airlift Wing squadrons won USAFE Maintenance Effectiveness Awards. The 86th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron won Outstanding Aircraft Maintenance (Medium) and the 86th Maintenance Squadron won Outstanding Maintenance Squadron.

Christine June, staff writer for the 415th Base Support Battalion, finished first as the best photojournalist, and second in best commentary and best story series categories in the 2004 Keith L. Ware Journalism Awards competition. She will now compete at the Army-wide level.