USAFE information, communications awards announced

Emily Reagan
Kaiserslautern American

The U.S. Air Forces in Europe recently announced the KMC winners of communications and information awards.

From Ramstein, Maj. Kevin Payne, 435th Air Base Wing, won the field grade officer award. Master Sgt. Jeffery Shangle, U.S. Air Forces in Europe Communications, won Communications-Electronics Systems Senior NCO. Tech. Sgt. Marlon Ball, 86th Airlift Wing, won Communications-Electronics Systems NCO. Tech Sgt. Jerry Hall, 86th AW, won Communications-Computer Systems NCO. Tech. Sgt. Timothy Cook, USAFE Communications, won Visual Information NCO. Tech. Sgt. Kirk Baldwin, USAFE Communications, won Postal Service NCO. Master Sgt. John Zimmermann, Air Forces Europe Communications, won Electromagnetic Spectrum Manager. Christopher Salter, 435th ABW, won Civilian Manager and Carl Martin III, 435th ABW, won Civilian Assistant Specialist.

Five units from Ramstein won awards. The 86th Air and Space Communications Group won the Major General Harold M. McClelland award. The 735th Communications Squadron won Information Assurance Unit. The 835th Communications Squadron Ramstein Postal Operations won Large Postal Facility. The 1st Communications Maintenance Airfield Systems Special Maintenance Team won Medium Workcenter and the 1st Combat Communications Squadron Network Radio Systems Workcenter won Large Workcenter.

From the 38th Combat Support Wing at Sembach, Capt. Eugene Ramming won the company grade officer award. Airman 1st Class James Bauer won Communications-Computer Systems Airman.

Master Sgt. Francis Sutherland won Postal Service Senior NCO. Tech. Sgt. James Waterman won Information Assurance Professional. Steve Waller won Civilian Specialist. The 38th CSW also won three unit awards. Detachment 6, 2nd Air Postal Squadron won Small Postal Facility. Detachment 5, 2nd AIRPS, won Aerial Mail Terminal. The 701st Munitions Support Squadron Network Control Center won Small Workcenter.