2007 USAFE Volleyball Championships:
Ramstein Wins! What a Finale!

Steven Lowe
Contributing writer

The Ramstein Lady Rams and Spangdahlem Lady Sabres battled for close to five hours May 25, playing some of the highest level of volleyball seen for a long time on a USAFE court. 

***image1***In the end, after nine enthralling sets, the Lady Rams emerged winners at the 2007 U.S. Air Forces in Europe volleyball championships at Ramstein’s Southside Fitness Center.

Earlier in the day the Lady Sabres defeated the Lady Dragons 25-13 and 25-12 to advance to the championship game, where they would need to defeat to Rams twice to lift the title.

This never looked possible when the Rams jumped out to a 2-0 lead but then the pendulum swung and the Spang ladies rallied and took the next three sets to win 3-2 (11-25, 17-25, 25-16, 27-25 and 15-11).

This would force the “if” game following the men’s final as the ladies managed to refuel and provide another exhilarating show, Ramstein again taking the first two sets 25-20 and 25-19. Spang dug deep again and came storming back in the third 25-21 but fell just short in the 4th losing 27-29 in a back and forth battle.

In men’s action the 501st CSW defeated Lakekenheath in the loser’s bracket game to advance to the championship in only their second year playing USAFE volleyball.

In the final they continued where they left off striking first and winning 25-18, however, Ramstein leveled winning the second 25-21.

The third set was the decisive one as the 501st led most of the way but leading 23-21 Ramstein strung together four unanswered points to win the set 25-23 and never looked back in the fourth closing it out 25-14.

All Star selections for the women were Tracy King, Lani Kekahuna and Jen Penzaar (all Ramstein), Cheryl Roberson, Stacey Schill and Heidi Rogers (all Spangdahlem), Alice Bartek and Emanuela Pollano (both Aviano), Megan Johnson (Lakenheath) and Melissa Fepuleai (Mildenhall).

All Star male selections were Bobby Coldwell, Tracy Lintz and Chris James (all Ramstein), Mark Spence and Mike Green (501st), Chris Milby and Freddie Verzo (Lakenheath), Aaron Bloomquist (Spangdahlem), Scott Pauley (Mildenhall) and John Cruz (Aviano).