39th Trans. Bn. gets new command sergeant major

by Spc. Kevin Alex
16th Sust. Bde. Public Affairs

Command Sgt. Maj. Walton Jones assumed responsibility as the senior enlisted Soldier of the 39th Transportation Battalion, 16th Sustainment Brigade during a change of responsibility ceremony held at the Kleber gymnasium on Kleber Kaserne here Feb. 4.

This change of responsibility brings the 39th Trans. Bn. a command sergeant major and all the experience that goes along with the rank, said Lt. Col. Lee English, the 39th Trans. Bn. commander.

Jones replaced Master Sgt. Willie J. Gregory, who started out as the rear detachment command sergeant major for the 39th Trans. Bn. and continued to serve in the position after the battalion redeployed.

Gregory served a total of two years as the battalion’s command sergeant major. Gregory’s next assignment will be the sergeant major at the Office of the Secretary General Staff, 21st Theater Sustainment Command.

It has been a great experience and a great challenge, said Gregory, but the Soldiers made it worth it. Command Sgt. Maj. Jones is getting an exceptional unit. Master Sgt. Gregory has done an outstanding job with this battalion, said Jones, “and I look forward to working with Lt. Col. English and taking the battalion to the next level.”

Jones, a native of Hammond, La., entered the Army July 19, 1989.  
Some of his previous assignments include instructor at advanced individual training, basic noncommissioned officer course and advanced noncommissioned officer course, platoon sergeant, first sergeant, garrison sergeant major, directorate of plans transportation management and security sergeant major, and division transportation office sergeant major.

Some of Jones’ awards and decorations include the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service Medal with four oak leaf clusters, Army Commendation Medal with four oak leaf clusters, Army Achievement Medal with one oak leaf cluster, seven Army Good Conduct Medals, National Defense Service Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Iraq Campaign Medal, Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, Humanitarian Medal, Kuwaiti Liberation Medal, and the Ancient St. Christopher’s award of