Communications maintenance honored

Capt. James Hamilton
1st Communications Maintenance Squadron

***image1***Members of the 1st Communications Maintenance Squadron at Kapaun Air Station were presented the Air Force Maintenance Effectiveness Award for medium size communications units April 8.
The mission of 1st CMXS is emergency repair and maintenance of fixed communications systems around U.S. Air Forces in Europe’s area of responsibility.
The squadron’s four special maintenance teams stand ready to deploy to more than 140 locations across Europe to work on various equipment, including microwave radio towers, air traffic control and landing systems and network infrastructure. The teams also assist and train base-level maintenance teams, as well as install a variety of communications systems.
“Each job presented a unique challenge,” said Staff Sgt. T.J. Parmley, Cable and Antenna SMT team chief.
The award recognizes units that enhance maintenance readiness, improve efficiency and reduce waste by encouraging excellence in all maintenance areas. The program covers 13 maintenance categories that range from missiles and aircraft to communications-electronics and depots. In addition to the unit winning the medium size (25 to 76 maintenance personnel) communications-electronics category for fiscal year 2003, it was selected as one of only four maintenance organizations to represent the Air Force at the Department of Defense Maintenance Awards and for the Secretary of Defense Phoenix Trophy.
During the award period, the 1st CMXS accomplished 5,500 days of temporary duties to keep communications running around the command.
During Operation Iraqi Freedom, the unit deployed technicians to Iraq to assess equipment needs at captured airfields and installed communications infrastructure at numerous contingency locations.
“The span of our operation set us apart,” said Maj. Rodney Radcliffe, 1st CMXS squadron commander. “We provided outstanding maintenance support to Air Force, sister services and other customers throughout USAFE and U.S. Central Command Air Forces.”
The 1st CMXS is a young squadron with a long legacy of maintenance excellence. Prior to last summer, the unit was known as Detachment 1, USAFE Computer Systems Squadron. In May 2003, the Air and Space Communications Group “stood up” to focus on the mission of theater-wide and deployable communications. It was during this transition that Det. 1 became 1st CMXS and fell under the ACOMG.
Major Radcliffe, Master Sgt. “Stu” Johnson and Master Sgt. Glenn Anderson, collected the winners plaque at the 2003 Maintenance Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C.